RECONSTRUCTION OF EXHIBITION CENTRE HALL 2

Following the collapse of Hall 2 of Caen’s exhibition centre, caused by the snow event in March 2013, we had to offer quick architectural solutions for its reconstruction to be durable, rapid and as inexpensive as possible. It was primarily the retention of the building foundations that guided us in our initial choices:

1. A three-dimensional structure in order to be as light as possible and achieve load distribution compatible with the new standards and the existing design

2. The creation of an almost flat roof consequent upon the previous decision and for significant improvement in terms of energy consumption and to avoid the risks of accumulation of snow

3. The reconstruction of firebreak side elevations separating Hall 2 from the other halls

4. The interposition of perimeter glazing using the internal walls as natural light reflectors

In conjunction, we undertook various operations on the main facade:

1. firstly, by grafting on its successive extensions with their voluptuous curved design, with solid timber cladding, extending its line;

2. secondly, by creating a distinct entrance lobby, which is accommodated naturally in this timber module

3. and furthermore, by creating a terrace that enables innovative exhibition design experiences and resolves a fire safety problem.

Finally, we wished to espouse the model of the major developments currently planned by the city authorities: in particular, the library designed by OMA/Rem Koolhaas, and Jean Guervilly’s swimming stadium.

Thus, we designed an ingenious porch, a sort of paper lantern that becomes a true beacon for the exhibition centre. A textile structure backlit by the sun during the day, the north façade transforming itself de facto into a south façade, the paper lantern is illuminated and lights up the night. From a distance, the building stands out and becomes a major landmark in the cityscape. Strategically located adjacent to the Prairie nature reserve, it is a prominent feature of the new Caen, together with the multimedia library and the swimming stadium.

The enhanced entrance to the building is sheltered by a canopy appended to the paper lantern.

Taking advantage of the total renovation of the hall, we simplified the fume extraction system installed during the previous extension; we also created additional emergency exits from the mezzanines. Thus, we were able to significantly increase the exhibition surface area and enable better space utilisation in time for the World Equestrian Games in summer 2014.

PLACE

CAEN, FRANCE

Date

2014

Client

CITY OF CAEN

Partners

Sogeti ENGINEERING (BET TCE) CABINET JAILLET-ROUBY (STEEL FRAMING)

Surface

8 700 m2

RECONSTRUCTION DU HALL 2 DU PARC DES EXPOSITIONS

À la suite de l’effondrement du hall 2 du parc des expositions de Caen, provoqué par l’épisode neigeux du mois de Mars 2013, nous avons dû proposer des réactions architecturales rapides afin que sa reconstruction soit pérenne, rapide et le moins coûteuse possible. C’est d’abord la conservation des fondations du bâtiment qui nous a guidé dans les premiers choix :

1. Une structure tridimensionnelle afin d’être le plus léger possible et rester dans une descente de charge compatible avec les nouvelles normes et le dimensionnement existant

2. La création d’une couverture presque plate conséquemment au choix précédent et pour une amélioration sensible de la consommation énergétique et pour éviter les risques d’amoncellement de neige

3. La reconstruction de façades latérales coupe-feu séparant le hall 2 des autres halls

4. L’interposition d’une verrière périphérique utilisant les façades intérieures comme réflecteur de lumière naturelle

En concomitance, nous avons opéré différentes interventions sur la façade principale :

5. d’une part, en lui rattachant ses extensions successives sur un motif voluptueux et courbe habillé d’un bardage de bois massif, qui prolonge son mouvement ;

6. d’autre part, en autonomisant le sas d’entrée, qui vient naturellement se loger dans ce module de bois

7. et en outre, en créant une terrasse qui permet de nouvelles expériences scénographiques et règle un problème de sécurité incendie.

Enfin, nous tenions à nous inscrire dans le contexte des grands équipements actuellement projetés par la mairie : la bibliothèque conçue par OMA / Rem Koolhaas, et le stade nautique de Jean Guervilly, notamment.

Ainsi, nous avons conçu un porche ingénieux, sorte de lampion devenant la véritable balise du parc des expositions. Structure textile prenant en contre-jour le soleil dans la journée, la façade nord se transformant de fait en façade sud, le lampion s’illumine et éclaire la nuit. De loin, le bâtiment se signale lui-même et devient un repère important à l’échelle de la ville. Jouxtant, stratégiquement, la Prairie, il ponctue le nouveau Caen, avec la médiathèque et le stade nautique.

L’entrée de l’équipement, magnifiée, est abritée par une marquise prise dans le lampion.

Profitant de la reprise complète de ce hall, nous avons simplifié le système du désenfumage mis en place lors de la dernière extension ; nous avons aussi la créé des issues de secours complémentaires sur les mezzanines. Ainsi, nous avons pu augmenter sensiblement la surface d’exposition et permettre une meilleure utilisation de l’espace dès les Jeux équestres Mondiaux de l’été 2014.

Lieu

CAEN, FRANCE

Date

2014

Maìtre d'ouvrage

VILLE DE CAEN

Partenaires

SOGETI INGÉNIERIE (BET TCE), CABINET JAILLET-ROUBY (CHARPENTE MÉTALLIQUE)

Surface

8 700 m2