RENAULT TECHNOCENTRE LOGISTICS UNIT

The Technocentre is a remarkable industrial project. About 30 kilometres from Paris, on a 370-acre site occupied in part by a former airport, Renault has built a true automotive complex, bringing together in one place all the departments involved in the development of new vehicles. Opened in 1998, this complex, representing an investment of €840M, is the result of a proactive architectural policy: a means of expressing the firm’s identity and affirming its strategy. Sometimes referred to as an incubator of contemporary architecture, the Technocentre mobilised architects who were subsequently encountered in the industrial world, in particular at Air France. In addition to Jean-François Schmit, one can mention Valode & Pistre, Chaix & Morel, Jean-Paul Hamonic and others who would appear, a few years later, among the practices occupying a prominent place in French architectural output.

In 1992, Jean-François Schmit won the competition for the construction of the Technocentre logistics unit. The development encompassed the spare parts warehouse, the maintenance department, the union premises and the mailroom. The building extends on a north-south axis in four distinct elements - offices, workshop, stores, goods inwards/despatch - each brought together in a "bar". Also four in number, these bars are combined side by side to form the whole. This combination of repetition and juxtaposition permitted subsequent expansion of the building. Thus, the form of the building reflects its function, the four identifiable elements corresponding exactly to the processes and activities that they house. During the competition, Jean-François Schmit explained the strategy adopted by analogy with the motherboards used in computers: like them, the building is a baseplate (an empty board) whose immediate environment is connected to the entire site.

However, the logistics unit adopts an expressionist, or even lyrical, form. Very prominent, the claddings signpost the various parts of the scheme. The installation of windows, in vertical or horizontal bands, subdivides the walls into sections, further showcasing the cladding material. The characteristic feature of the building remains the roof, given a cadence by a series of saw-tooth roofs that, where required, transform into canopies. The ripples thus created, inspired by Japanese prints of Hokusai’s Great Wave, establish the continuity of the composition and display a strong fifth facade to the neighbouring offices.

The design was not restricted to the building, but was extended to its surroundings. The landscaping treatment differentiates the vehicle and personnel accesses, exploiting the differences of scale. It extends the composition by juxtaposition, inserting the pedestrian accesses between each bar and allowing small embankments to climb the walls of the offices to the north. By its size and its technical characteristics, the Technocentre logistics unit foreshadows subsequent buildings by Jean-François Schmit for the aviation industry.

PLACE

Guyancourt, France

Date

1995

Client

RENAULT

Partners

Ingédia (BET TCE)

Surface

16 000 m2

ENSEMBLE LOGISTIQUE DU TECHNOCENTRE RENAULT

Le Technocentre est un projet industriel exceptionnel. À une trentaine de kilomètres de Paris, sur un site de 150 hectares occupé en partie par un ancien aéroport, la société Renault a édifié une véritable cité de l’automobile, rassemblant en un lieu unique tous les services concernés par la mise au point de nouveaux véhicules. Inaugurée en 1998, cette cité qui représenta un investissement de 5,5 milliards de francs (840 millions d’euros), est l’aboutissement d’une politique architecturale volontariste : une façon d’exprimer l’identité de la firme et d’affirmer sa stratégie. Parfois qualifié d’incubateur d’architecture contemporaine, le Technocentre mobilisa des architectes que l’on retrouva ensuite dans le monde industriel, notamment à Air France. Outre Jean-François Schmit, on peut citer Valode & Pistre, Chaix & Morel, Jean-Paul Hamonic et d’autres qui figureront, quelques années après, parmi les agences occupant une place de premier plan dans la production architecturale française.

En 1992, Jean-François Schmit remporta le concours pour la construction de l’ensemble logistique du Technocentre. Le programme regroupait le magasin des pièces détachées, le service de la maintenance, les locaux syndicaux et le service du courrier. Le bâtiment se développe selon l’orientation nord-sud en quatre séquences distinctes – bureaux, ateliers, magasins, livraison/expédition – regroupées en « barrettes ». Également au nombre de quatre, ces barrettes sont accolées pour former l’ensemble. Ce jeu de répétition et de juxtaposition permettait l’extension ultérieure du bâtiment. Ainsi, la forme du bâtiment reflète sa fonction, les quatre séquences identifiables recoupant exactement les process et activités qu’elles abritent. Lors du concours, Jean-François Schmit expliqua le parti adopté par analogie avec les cartes mères utilisées dans les ordinateurs : à leur image, le bâtiment est un socle (une carte vierge) dont l’environnement immédiat est connecté à l’ensemble du site.

L’ensemble logistique prend cependant une tournure expressionniste, voire lyrique. Très présents, les bardages expriment les différentes parties du programme. L’installation de fenêtres, en bandes verticales ou horizontales, découpe les parois en surfaces valorisant d’autant le matériau de bardage. L’élément caractéristique du bâtiment reste la toiture, rythmée par une série de sheds se transformant éventuellement en auvents. Les ondulations ainsi créées, inspirées par l’estampe japonaise d’Hokusai La Grande Vague de Kanagawa, établissent la continuité de la composition et offrent une cinquième façade forte aux bureaux voisins.

La conception ne se limitait pas au bâtiment, mais fut étendue à ses abords. Le traitement paysager différencie les accès véhicule et personnel en jouant sur les différences d’échelle. Il prolonge la composition par juxtaposition en intercalant les accès piétons entre chaque barrette et en laissant monter des petits talus sur les allèges des bureaux au nord. Par son importance et ses caractéristiques techniques, l’ensemble logistique du Technocentre préfigure les bâtiments construits ultérieurement par Jean-François Schmit pour l’industrie aéronautique.

Lieu

Guyancourt, France

Date

1995

Maìtre d'ouvrage

RENAULT

Partenaires

Ingédia (BET TCE)

Surface

16 000 m2